Bafta 2020

BAFTA 2020: List Of Nominees And Winners

The BAFTA 2020 will broadcast tonight

Disney is crossing the Pond this Sunday for the 73rd Ceremony of the BAFTA. Frozen 2 and Toy Story 4 are running for Best Animated Film while The Lion King received a nomination for Special Visual Effects, alongside Avengers: Endgame and Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker. In addition, the blockbuster has received nods for Original Score and Sounds.

Other Disney-owned productions, such as Taika Waititi’s Jojo Rabbit (read our review) or Ford v Ferrari (running under the Europen title Le Mans ’66) are nominated for several categories.

Several Disney actors are also running for Best Actor and Supporting Actor and we will make sure to keep an eye on them.

Here is the list of the BAFTA 2020 Nominees and Winners.

Best Film

WINNER — 1917
The Irishman
Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood

Outstanding British Film

WINNER — 1917
For Sama
Sorry We Missed You
The Two Popes

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

For Sama
Only You

Film Not In The English Language

The Farewell
For Sama
Pain and Glory
WINNER — Parasite
Portrait of a Lady on Fire


American Factory
Apollo 11
Diego Maradona
WINNER — For Sama
The Great Hack

Animated Film

Frozen 2
WINNER — Klaus
A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon
Toy Story 4

Photo: Nerdist


WINNER — 1917, Sam Mendes
The Irishman, Martin Scorsese
Joker, Todd Phillips
Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood, Quentin Tarantino
Parasite, Bong Joon-ho

Original Screenplay

Booksmart, Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Katie Silberman
Knives Out, Rian Johnson
Marriage Story, Noah Baumbach
Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood, Quentin Tarantino
WINNER — Parasite, Han Jin Won, Bong Joon-ho

Adapted Screenplay

Irishman, Steven Zaillian
WINNER — Jojo Rabbit, Taika Waititi
Joker, Todd Phillips, Scott Silver
Little Women, Greta Gerwig
The Two Popes, Anthony McCarten

Leading Actress

Jessie Buckley, Wild Rose
Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story
Saoirse Ronan, Little Women
Charlize Theron, Bombshell
WINNER — Renée Zellweger, Judy

Leading Actor

Leonardo DiCaprio, Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood
Adam Driver, Marriage Story
Taron Egerton, Rocketman
WINNER — Joaquin Phoenix, Joker
Jonathan Pryce, The Two Popes

Supporting Actress

WINNER — Laura Dern, Marriage Story
Scarlett Johansson, Jojo Rabbit
Florence Pugh, Little Women
Margot Robbie, Bombshell
Margot Robbie, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

Photo: Searchlight Pictures

Supporting Actor

Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Anthony Hopkins, The Two Popes
Al Pacino, The Irishman
Joe Pesci, The Irishman
WINNER — Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

Original Score

1917, Thomas Newman
Jojo Rabbit, Michael Giacchino
WINNER — Joker, Hildur Guđnadóttir
Little Women, Alexandre Desplat
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, John Williams


WINNER — Joker, Shayna Markowitz
Marriage Story, Douglas Aibel, Francine Maisler
Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood, Victoria Thomas
The Personal History of David Copperfield, Sarah Crowe
The Two Popes, Nina Gold


WINNER — 1917, Roger Deakins
The Irishman, Rodrigo Prieto
Joker, Lawrence Sher
Ford v Ferrari, Phedon Papamichael
The Lighthouse, Jarin Blaschke


The Irishman, Thelma Schoonmaker
Jojo Rabbit, Tom Eagle
Joker, Jeff Groth
WINNER — Ford v Ferrari, Andrew Buckland, Michael McCusker
Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood, Fred Raskin

Production Design

WINNER — 1917, Dennis Gassner, Lee Sandales
The Irishman, Bob Shaw, Regina Graves
Jojo Rabbit, Ra Vincent, Nora Sopková
Joker, Mark Friedberg, Kris Moran
Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood, Barbara Ling, Nancy Haigh

Costume Design

The Irishman, Christopher Peterson, Sandy Powell
Jojo Rabbit, Mayes C Rubeo
Judy, Jany Temime
WINNER — Little Women, Jacqueline Durran
Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood, Arianne Phillips


WINNER — 1917, Scott Millan, Oliver Tarney, Rachael Tate, Mark Taylor, Stuart Wilson
Joker, Tod Maitland, Alan Robert Murray, Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic
Ford v Ferrari, David Giammarco, Paul Massey, Steven A. Morrow, Donald Sylvester
Rocketman, Matthew Collinge, John Hayes, Mike Prestwood Smith, Danny Sheehan
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, David Acord, Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, Stuart Wilson, Matthew Wood

Photo: Disney

Special Visual Effects

WINNER — 1917, Greg Butler, Guillaume Rocheron, Dominic Tuohy
Avengers: Endgame, Dan Deleeuw, Dan Sudick
The Irishman, Leandro Estebecorena, Stephane Grabli, Pablo Helman
The Lion King, Andrew R. Jones, Robert Legato, Elliot Newman, Adam Valdez
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, Neal Scanlan, Dominic Tuohy

Congratulations to all the winners!

Leave a comment

%d bloggers like this: